passrite 0800 727 774

What can I drive on what licences

There are 6 licences in NZ.
Class 1 Private motor car up to 6,000Kg
Class 2 Rigid Vehicle up to 18,000Kg or a tuck and trailer combination not exceeding 12,000Kg
Class 3 Truck and trailer combination up to 25,000Kg
Class 4 Rigid truck over 18,000Kg
Class 5 Truck and trailer combination over 25,000Kg
Class 6 Motorcycle 

These are the only licences. You then have 9 Endorsements that attach to the classes of licence that you may have and that will determine the weights of the vehicles that you can drive
. For example:
Class 1 with a P Endorsement means you can drive a Taxi/Shuttle/Car for private hire. Up to 6,000Kg
Class 2 with a P Endorsement means you can drive a Bus. Up to 18,000Kg

 To find out what you can drive on what licences Click Here

Your drivers licence explained, what the different licence colours mean and what the Endorsement abbreviations are. Click Here